130 Years of Tourism at Port Arthur celebrated
Port Arthur has been a magnet for tourists ever since the prison closed in 1877. This long period of the Historic Site's history will be celebrated by a special exhibition that opens this week.
Almost as soon as the prison gates swung open, steamers full of tourists from Hobart started arriving to see the infamous place. Convict-era homes were converted into hotels, guest houses and inns to accommodate and feed the visitors.
In this exhibition we retrace this period through photographs and ephemera, watching the site evolve from a picturesque, abandoned ruin to a carefully conserved candidate for World Heritage status. The images come from PAHSMA’s own collection, as well as from other Australian collections, both public and private.
This exhibition is presented by the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority as part of the 2008 Tasmanian Heritage Festival, which includes a variety of activities around the State.
Port Arthur Historic Site
Port Arthur, Tasmania
11 April – 15 May 2008
9am – 5pm daily
Access to the exhibition is included in Site entry fee
Inquiries 1800 659 101
At the Commandant's House, circa 1885 (PAHSMA Collection)
'Old Harry', a guide at Port Arthur circa 1911 (PAHSMA Collection)
Picnickers at Port Arthur, circa 1945 (PAHSMA Collection)